New member says hello to y'all

Status
Not open for further replies.

TNScrollSawRich

New User
ScrollSawRich
Good Evening. My name is Rich and I live in Arlington, TN (Memphis). I am impressed with this site and look forward to meeting new woodworkers.
My interest lies with making bowls on the scroll saw. I have been doing this for only one year so I am a newbie. I have a used RBI Hawk.
I have seen some beautiful bowls that are made from glued segments. Does anyone have a 'primer' on how to do this.
I would appreciate any help.

ChrisB

New User
Chris
Welcome to the site, Rich!

I'm sure you'll find lots of help from the scroll saw experts on this site - unfortunately, I'm not one of them. :nah: I look forward to seeing some of your work!

Chris

TracyP

Administrator , Forum Moderator
Tracy
Welcome to the friendliest woodworking site on the web. We are glad to have you join.

Splint Eastwood

New User
Matt
Congrats on finding us and joining!

Im not a "scroller" but.....own a RBI Hawk , the wee one.

I didn't know you can make bowls from a SS.

We need to see some Pics

Post often,

Matt

cskipper

Cathy
Welcome! I bought Carole's book on scrolling the bowls. I have never scrolled anything on an angle, and my drum sander and I are rarely in the same town so I haven't tried them yet. I don't know if there is a primer on segmented bowls. LOML and I laminated several strips of various woods, calculated the number of sections and angles needed and cut the sections to those angles. We alternated the sections with walnut. I know most of the turners who make segmented pieces do this differently, and probably better. But, we did get a nice bowl out of it.

Great to have another scroller on the site. Please post pictures of your bowls.

Trent Mason

New User
Trent Mason