New member, new to wood working, Fayetteville, NC

Status
Not open for further replies.

mattiep

New User
Matt
Greetings, one and all.

The way I found this site is kind of round-about. You see, I'm not a wood worker, at least, not yet. We'll see if I ever turn into one. Here's the story.

I am in the Army and currently deployed to Afghanistan. A short while ago I was home in Fayetteville on R&R. I had a couple of projects that I needed to work on, which I enjoyed immensely. I completed a tree house/fort for my kids that my brother had started back in November and I built a chicken coop for my wife.

Both these projects were out of character for me, in the Army I do communications and I've never built anything from scratch before. Also, my wife and I are born and bred city folk, never had chickens before. But as I said, I enjoyed doing them immensely. Building something solid and permanent was extremely rewarding to me and I would like to learn more.

So on the way back to Afghanistan I had a layover in the Atlanta Airport and happened to see a magazine from Fine Woodworking called Power Tool Techniques, which I picked up. Lo and behold I read it and have now subscribed to their magazine. In their online forums I happened to see a link to this site, and here I am.

So, to sum up, I have some construction carpentry under my belt and would like to learn more. I look forward to learning more about this fascinating craft.

b4man

New User
Barbara
Welcome to the virtual sawdust pile Matt! What a great story. We have several members stationed at Ft Bragg and some are deployed all over the globe. You will find no shortage of great knowledge here and support for any endeavor.

Thank you for your service to our country and I look forward to seeing more of your post.

Barbara

Trent Mason

New User
Trent Mason