Need electrical help

Status
Not open for further replies.

ACobra289

New User
Bill
Hello all.

I need some electrical wiring help. I am hoping this will be very simple for somebody that actually knows something about wiring.

The light in my hall is controlled by 2 switches (one on either end of the hall). I am trying to replace these 2 switches. Not knowing anything about wiring, I made sure to put the wires on the new switches exactly how they came off the old switches. This strategy did not work. I have since tried multiple combinations to no avail. :BangHead:

Can anyone give me any idea how to wire this?

The pics are the left and right side of the switch. The other end of the hall has the exact same switch.

If there is anybody in the Winston area that has testing equipment and could come by and fix this, I'd give them 20 bucks to cover their gas.
Help!

100_3025.jpg

100_3024.jpg

russellellis

New User
Russell
I am NOT a licensed electrician but ive done my share of 3way light wiring. Theres more than one way to run this wiring, like 10 ways, and all the ones i know always need a complete ground circuit.

ACobra289

New User
Bill
I am NOT a licensed electrician but ive done my share of 3way light wiring. Theres more than one way to run this wiring, like 10 ways, and all the ones i know always need a complete ground circuit.

There were no ground wires on the originals.

I'll figure it out.

Thanks.

FredP

Fred
Corporate Member
If memory serves when I did mine in the shop I needed 3 way switches. are those three way or plain old switches? also the wires need to be 3 wire with ground. code requires a ground and safety is a concern.

fred

russellellis

New User
Russell
If memory serves when I did mine in the shop I needed 3 way switches. are those three way or plain old switches? also the wires need to be 3 wire with ground. code requires a ground and safety is a concern.

fred