Name That Wood................

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rod

New User
Rod
It seems that while amassing a small collection of turning blanks, I have lost, mislabeled or otherwise just forgotten a species or two…or maybe 3. So I come to you looking for direction. I come looking for wisdom, for I am just a mere novice when it comes to wood identification.
The first 4 are of the same species. They look almost identical to two platter blanks I have that I believe to be Sweetgum…a yellowish, soft texture with hints of spalting and pink…….veins/splotches/?
The last are magnolia and hackberry I think, but I can’t remember. Please advise at your convenience.
Thanks,
Rod

Last edited:

Gofor

Mark
Corporate Member
The first four closely resemble the southern red maple I just got from my neighbor this weekend.

Go

J

jeff...

The first two pics are mighty yellow... I would say mulberry but it looks to grainy for mulberry, it might also be Osage Orange - heck I don't know :dontknow: Give us some clues... What it smell, taste and feel like - is it heavy and hard what happens when you whack it with a hammer? Does it laugh at the hammer or does it dent easy when whacked? How big is the piece, how much does it weigh? Is the yellow hue on your camera adjusted correctly?

gsdoby

New User
Gary
I also thought of Osage orange but I did not think it would be subject to spalting. Just my 2 cents worth.

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
I have some osage that laid out in the woods for ten years, the outside is rotted but no spalting. Inside is pure smooth yellow.

J

jeff...

I also thought of Osage orange but I did not think it would be subject to spalting. Just my 2 cents worth.

I have some osage that laid out in the woods for ten years, the outside is rotted but no spalting. Inside is pure smooth yellow.

Great points e.g. Spalting - then my vote is for Mulberry. But I need some more hints have you snorted any yet?

CaptnA

Andy
Corporate Member