Multifunction machines like the Robland X31 questions....

Status
Not open for further replies.

yellofins

Ron
Corporate Member
Hi Folks,
I know a few of you have the multifunction machines from Planer Jointers to the 5 in 1 machines like the Robland (Laguna) X31.
I am considering changing my garage shop to incorporate either a jointer planer or a 5 in 1.
Could you let me know if you have a 5 in 1 or a jointer planer other than the Jet 12"....I have a few questions I need answered before I redesign my shop. I already have all the info on the Jet 12".

Thanks,
Ron

mkepke

Mark
Senior User
Hi Ron..I have a X31. Ask away. I see you moved to Fuquay..if you want, you can stop by my shop and take a gander.

And you can visit your old Delta wood/metal bandsaw.

I think Travis and Bernard have Felder combos.

-Mark

rbdoby

New User
Rick
Ron,

I also have an X31 that I've been using since 1998. It saves a lot of room in the shop. I'll try to answer any questions you have.

Rick Doby

dino drosas

Dino
Corporate Member
I have owned two different 5 in 1 Felder machines begining in 1989. I now have a Felder saw/shaper and a jointer/planner. I like the separates better because of the work pattern but they do take up more room. The combination machine worked very well for me as I work mostly with solid wood and very rarely with sheet goods. Changer over time was never an issue as I am a hobby woodworker and not a production shop. In my opinion, the Felder machines are the top of the line followed by Mini Max and then Laguna / Robland. I do not know much about Rojex except what I have read and it has not been favorable. I am sure there are others out there and very different opinions from mine as well. If I can be of any help, don't hesitate to ask.
spho_tools_005.jpg

View image in gallery

spho_tools_003.jpg

View image in gallery

yellofins

Ron
Corporate Member
Thanks for the replies.
I'll be getting my questions in line and send a PM.