Moving from Carpentry to Cabinetry

Sourwould

New User
Taylor
I've worked in construction since ~2013 or so. I've been a framer and mostly done remodel and historical work. Lots of additions, decks, trim outs, etc.

I'd really like to move from doing this kind of general construction to smaller scale cabinetry (built-ins, vanities, etc). I've done this kind of work on and off, so I have some experience there. I say smaller scale because I don't see competing with Vietnamese flat pack cabinets or home depot on full kitchens.

I'm curious if anyone here has made this kind of transition, and how you did it.

Jeff

New User
Jeff
I knew a little bit about framing work before I started woodworking as a hobby. I read a lot and subscribed to "Fine Woodworking" magazine including their digital access. Learn about various types of woodworking joints and how to use and make them (mortise & tenon, rabbet, dado, etc).

Skymaster

New User
Jack
Trimmer here for 30 yrs, now retired,broke one off cabinet builder,book cases, etc urns :cool: :cool: :D :D Transition really is not a big deal, same thing but on a smaller scale, same math,measuring etc, only difference is instead of +- 1/4" framing now +- 1/64

Willemjm

Willem
Corporate Member
Reach out to @Willemjm & @Graywolf. I'm sure that there are other working cabinet makers here, but they're the ones that immediately come to mind.
It depends what you want to do. Unfortunately if it is making money, doing as little as possible yourself is where you will find success. Find a couple of reliable installers, a few reliable cabinet suppliers, do the design yourself, order, have it delivered at the job site on the same day you have scheduled the installer and you are done. Typically a kitchen in a 2,500 sq ft house is around 3 hours install There is a lot of competition, so you have to try and be the best at what you are doing.

There is only love in fine woodworking, no money.

Sourwould

New User
Taylor