Made plans but new to woodworking and need help with joints

Grit12Gauge

New User
JP
I’m new to woodworking and have a novice skill set. I had an awesome idea pop in my head, so I watched YouTube and learned how to use sketch up. I made the piece but not sure if the base of this “dresser” type piece will work. HELP!!! Do these joints make sense and how should I attack this?

Attachments

• Joint Help.pdf
    531.8 KB · Views: 240

Oka

Casey
Corporate Member
Here is an easy way to do this. fF you are pretty new to wood, then I would only recommend dado'ing out the joints shown as the red arrow. The rest can be butt joints the little box is a side view of a piece of wood. The blue line represents the (pocket hole jig) pilot hole and screw that would be used along with glue to assemble the rest. This was you really on notching 4 joints the rest I would just use the pocket hole jig to pilot the holes and use the screws that are meant for that type of joint. You can make a very nice cabinet as long as your cuts are accurate and straight & perpendicular.

Attachments

• 55555.PNG
    55555.PNG
    312.7 KB · Views: 200
Last edited:

Grit12Gauge

New User
JP
Here is an easy way to do this. IF you are pretty new to wood, then I would only recommend dado'ing our the joints shown as the red arrow. The rest can be butt joints the little box is a side view of a piece of wood. The blue line represents the (pocket hole jig) pilot hole and screw that would be used along with glue to assemble the rest. This was you really on notching 4 joints the rest I would just use the pocket hole jig to pilot the holes and use the screws that are meant for that type of joint. You can make a very nice cabinet as long as your cuts are accurate and straight & perpendicular.