Looking for a table saw...advice needed!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gilley23

New User
Bryan
Ok guys, I'm a hobbyist not a professional so I'm in no need of a SawStop or the likes....although that would be awesome! Also, space is a concern. Really, one of the hybrid type of saws would be the largest that I could house space for.

This would be used for fairly accurate cutting, not just rip cuts. I've been searching on Craigslist for older units, but to be honest I don't know what's decent and what's not. All I know is that this 10yr old POS Ryobi that I'm using is eventually going to rip my face off from all of its uncontainable awesomeness.

So, on a budget, what would you guys recommend looking for? I really want to keep this under $300, preferably closer to $200. Yes, I know, that isn't much. I'm in Charlotte, btw, but don't mind driving a little bit if needed.

Thanks so much!

JeffH

Jeff
Senior User
Not too long ago I decided that my Dewalt job site table saw wasn't doing what I needed -- wouldn't take a dado blade, small table size, etc. -- although it was a nice quality tool. I picked up a Ridgid table saw in nice condition for $400 from a woodworker on CL closing his shop, with extra blades (including 2 dado sets), zero clearance inserts, and a couple of jigs. Then I sold my Dewalt with stand for $200 to somebody who really needed a jobsite saw for his work. Net outlay -- $200 for a $600 saw.

Almost all the negative reviews I've seen about the Ridgid have had to do with truncheon issues out of the box when purchased, so I figured getting a used one meant that someone else had taken that risk and this one would not be one of the problem ones. Very happy with the saw -- built-in mobile base, smooth running, good fence, cast iron top, easy to make precise adjustments.

Henry W

Henry
Corporate Member
RDU CL saw for $300 in Mebane...