Long Term Update On College

Wiley's Woodworks

Wiley
Corporate Member
I have been a member of NCWW for two years now, and it has become a valuable resource. I joined at the same time I moved to the mountains and established my company--Wiley's Woodworks. Shortly after I joined I mentioned that I was going to take a woodworking course, and several members asked me to update as I progressed. Interim steps didn't work for me, but now the journey is completed.

I have graduated cum laude from Haywood Community College in Clyde, NC with an Associate's Degree in Professional Crafts--Wood. I am proud of myself for earning a college degree at 71 years old. The entire experience was sort of like going into the Army: I'm glad I did it, it was good for me, and there's no way I would do it again.

It is impossible to mention all the benefits, knowledge, and experiences I gained from sticking with the program until I graduated. Believe me, I thought about quitting many times. Teaching an old dog new tricks is tough, especially when you're the dog. The technology side of the curriculum was especially tough for a grizzled old business owner who achieved my success the old way in the last millennium. I still marvel at getting through.

The HCC curriculum may be unique among woodworking programs of all types because it gives equal weight to woodworking skills and the business side of being a self-supporting craftsman. My characterization of the HCC program is it teaches you how to make high quality, fine furniture and gives you a fighting chance at making a living at it. In today's economic world making a living as a craftsman or artist is an odds-against proposition, in my humble, realistic, now educated opinion. To believe you have a fighting chance of succeeding is priceless.