Lock Rabbet joint

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
I'm making a drawer, out of 3/4" plywood. As part of my continued education, I want to use a lock rabbet joint, since I've never done that one before. I want to use the table saw, since my my box joint blade does both 1/4" and 3/8" cuts.

I found a great video on the Wood Magazine web site, but the example is done using 1/2" stock for the sides. I'm trying to figure out how to best adapt this for 3/4" stock.

Thought #1 is to keep the dado at 1/4" deep, then just cut away more on the mating piece to create the 1/4" rabbet. The video shows how you can use a 1/4" shim to avoid having to reset the fence, I don't think I need a shim with 3/4" stock.

Thought #2 is to make the dado 3/8" deep, and the rabbet 3/8" wide to match, half the width of the stock. The shim would have to be 3/8" to match.

It would seem the 3/8" dado/ rabbet would be stronger, and setup more intuitive. Anything I'm missing here? I don't have any spare stock :)

Jim Murphy

New User
Fern HollowMan
I don't make mine using the technique shown in the video, but here's what DIY says to do.

http://www.diynetwork.com/diy/hi_tools/article/0,,DIY_13936_4219278,00.html

Use a 1/4" dado stack for this project. Set the blade 1/4" above the table.

Set the fence 1/4" from the blade edge.

Place a board flat against the table top and tight against the fence.

Make a cut on all the way across the board. This board will be the drawer side (figure A).

For the drawer front, cut a 1/4" x 1/4" rabbet. So that you don’t have to change the blade setup, Use a 1/4" spacer board between the fence and the board. Use your miter gauge to hold the board and maintain the spacing as you push through the cut (figure B).

Change the blade height to 1/2".

Stand the drawer front vertically for the next cut.