Lathe Chuck advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.

uncledavid

New User
David
I am very new at woodturning, and in the last week I bought a old 12-36 jet lathe. Now I need a chuck. any advice as what to get? I have been looking at a Barracuda 2, looking for guidence from turners. Thank you so much, David.
:confused:

kclark

New User
Kevin
I bought the nova g3 from woodcraft last month . It was on sale for $180 when I got it. It has been a great chuck for me. I am very happy with my selection. My projects have not slipped out yet even on bigger turnings. Salad bowl size and that is on a Rikon 12-16 lathe.

manfre

New User
Manfre
On my Delta 46-455, I have the Nova Midi. The jaws do not travel as far as the Nova g3, which is annoying at times and requires me to switch jaws for some baby rattle or bottle stopper blanks. It's only real advantage over the g3 is that it can use the same jaws for less than half the price.

eyekode

New User
Salem
Do NOT buy the Nova Midi for the Jet 1236. The spindle threads are too long and will interfere with closing of the chuck.
I have a supernova and like it. The G3 looks like it should be nice too. I am also tempted by the following chucks:
http://www.grizzly.com/products/4-Jaw-Wood-Chuck-1-x-8-TPI/H6265 - i have heard it is a good clone of the Vicmarc and can even use their jaws.
http://www.leevalley.com/US/wood/page.aspx?p=69183&cat=51&ap=1 - I haven't heard anything about these but LeeValley typically offers up good wares only.
Salem

sawduster

New User
Robert
one vote here for the Barracuda 2 . I bought one 2 years ago and have abused the heck out of it ( I'm a rookie ) and it has handled it. i like it so much I bought another used one from a member here. a lot of bang for the buck in my opinion

Gunslinger

New User
Mike