Kids playdeck...help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

pslamp32

New User
Peter
So I thought I'd build my son a little playdeck / swing / slide. I built the deck about 4.5' off the ground and the deck is about 8'X8'. I used 4 posts which are 4X4s and the deck 'framing' (not sure if this is the proper wording) is made from 2X6s. I added 3 - 2X6 joists and the framing is covered with 5/4 X6 decking. Everything looks great and feels solid when I walk on it but then I got paranoid that I should have used 6X6 for posts or maybe added at least 2 more 4X4 posts for support. It's too late to add the extra posts. I've never built anything like this before but it seemed pretty simple although I didn't really think too hard about it obviously. Am I getting paranoid for nothing? Thanks!

Here's a picture from my crappy camera phone to give you an idea what I'm talking about. This is before I added the decking obviously.

playdeck.jpg

I still need to add railings, a slide, a ladder and swingset off the side of the deck. All that weight makes me a little nervous.

Last edited:

TXnNC

New User
Ken
Peter,

Wife and I built this one out of 4x4s last fall and so far no problems. As long as you anchor (quikrete) the legs well, it shouldn't be a problem. Yes, it will swing some if the kids start playing hard, but never anything to cause concern.

Ken

TracyP

Administrator , Forum Moderator
Tracy
4X4'S Shouldn't let it go anywhere, looks like a fun place to play!!

cptully

New User
Chris
Peter,

Being a Materials Engineer by training, I've been working through Bruce Hoadley's Understanding Wood text - essentially one of my college texts rewritten for wood instead of metal! :gar-Bi