kaleidoscopes

Status
Not open for further replies.

grumpy

New User
Harry Goodwin
I have enjoyed pens and egg kaleidoscopes for a long while but the wife wants a longer larger one and she wants me to turn it rather than buy the finished product. Any help on a source for a longer scopes. Most seem to be for kids. Harry

Eaglesc

New User
Eagle
I have a friend who turns pens that made a connon model into a Kaleidoscope/
He scaled a model cannon and made the Kaleido scope from it.

walnutjerry

Jerry
Senior User
I have enjoyed pens and egg kaleidoscopes for a long while but the wife wants a longer larger one and she wants me to turn it rather than buy the finished product. Any help on a source for a longer scopes. Most seem to be for kids. Harry

Harry,

I have been making wood kaliedoscope tubes for 15 years. I supply an artist in Spruce Pine with them. They are 9" long, 2" OD with 1 1/2" ID.

I can make them larger or smaller if need be.

PM if I can help.

Jerry

grumpy

New User
Harry Goodwin
I am interested in one about 8 or 9 inches long. How large must the i9nside diameter be? How much assembly of the scope is involved. Harry
252 321 7142

walnutjerry

Jerry
Senior User
I am interested in one about 8 or 9 inches long. How large must the i9nside diameter be? How much assembly of the scope is involved. Harry
252 321 7142

Harry--------I have not built any scopes from start to finish. I have only done the wood tubes. They are 2" diameter outside and 1 1/2" diameter inside. The eye piece is attached to the tube when I make it.

I can tell you what she (the scope artist) does. There are 3 pieces of glass cut in a circle, one piece is about 1" diameter, one is just under 1 1/2" diameter and one just under 1 5/8" diameter. and 3 pieces of 1st surface mirror and of course what ever medium you use to put in the chamber for the color. It also takes some clear silicone caulk for adhesive and packing peanuts to hold the mirrors in place.