Inset Drawer Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

JohnW

New User
John
Most info I read recommends 1/8" clearance on all sides. Does anyone have experience with a tighter tolerance? I'm making some inset drawers and would like a max of 3/32", prefer 1/16", for the sides.

Slides will be Blum full extension 100 Lbs rated side mounted. Fronts will be 3/4" solid white oak and the largest drawer front will be 12" high. So I expect I should keep 1/8" on top and bottom for wood movement. Wanting tighter tolerance on sides because it seems to hide the slides better. I have little experience with inset drawers and was wondering what you folks do.

The front of the slide will be recessed about 7/8" so am I overthinking the visibility of the slides? :icon_scra

ehpoole

Administrator
Ethan
As long as the clearance is great enough to accommodate the natural expansion of the wood from humidity changes and you can keep it sufficiently even and balanced on both sides (within the limits of human perception at least) then that gap may be as tight as you want within those constraints. A gap of 1/16" is very much achievable if that is what you prefer.

Graywolf

Board of Directors, President
Richard
Staff member
Corporate Member
+1 on you can achieve the gap that you find pleasing and functions to your liking. There are no set hard and fast rules here.

CDPeters

Master of None
Chris
I prefer a smaller gap most of the time. I usually shoot for 1/16 to 3/32 all around.

ehpoole

Administrator
Ethan
I would go for a drawer width of 1/16 less than opening.