INCRA LS 17 System

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlexSwansboro

New User
Alex
Business is picking up for me, which is really nice and I am in the market for something that can help me with box joints and dovetail joints. I am new to those joints, and don't really like building homemade jigs so the INCRA LS 17 System caught my eye after reading and watching the INCRA Ibox system on youtube. I wanted to know if anybody had any insight into these systems, how effective they are, ease of use and overall opinion.

Thank you for your help.

ehpoole

Administrator
Ethan
If you speak with NCWW member "Alan in Little Washington" he can tell you pretty much anything you want to know about the iBox system as he was the inventor and I'm sure he'd be happy to answer any questions. If you use the site's "Search" feature (the textbox on the far right-hand side of the top menu bar) and search on "iBox" then you should turn up a number of past threads on this system.

I have no information on the other system you mentioned and I have not personally used either system.

Happy to hear that business is picking up for you, that's the sort of news we really enjoy hearing!

Alan in Little Washington

Alan Schaffter
Corporate Member
Neither system is designed for factory production use, but both do a really nice job. Both were designed in the USA and are precision manufactured in the USA by INCRA (the I-BOX is based on my original licensed design). The differences are:

The I-BOX is a dedicated box joint jig that can only be used to make box joints on a table saw (with dado blades) or a router table. It also allows you to make specialty box joints that are very hard or impossible to make with other jigs and methods. I think I can safely say, that it is the best box joint jig on the market and exceeds the capabilities of all DIY box joint jigs, including Lynn's and Mathias Wandel's leadscrew-based jigs.