Hello...

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChrisMathes

New User
Chris Mathes
I found this site through surfing around with Google...and planed to just lurk for a bit. Well, then I saw the post by Erin and that she had sold an 8" jointer xxxxxx so I had to ask if there were more good deals to be had. Of course, the answer was not for me as I would need a similar deal (we just had twins)...I was hoping to get a planer ;-)

Anyway, I'm fairly new to woodworking. I started with some basic outdoor projects (I built a trellis for our trash can) and really enjoyed it. That led to a 10x16 shed (luckily I had the foresight to go ahead and put a workbench in) to a large timber retaining wall with stairs to a playhouse for my kids built ontop of the 40 yards being retained by my wall...ok ramble ramble :)

Well, when it was getting close to the twins being born, I thought I would try my hand at a music box. I built one for my wife to give to her when she had the babies. It was a lot of fun, but that means I've only been doing fine woodworking for about 3-4 mos. I'm hooked! Since then, I've been making picture frames for our pictures of our kids (did I mention we have a 4 yr old and a 2 1/2 yr old, too? ). I've really enjoyed the picture frames b/c they are easy and I have been able to focus on learning my tools and playing with different woods, instead of having to think about what I'm making. My favorite frame so far was made with bubinga and bocote splines.

I live on the NE side of Charlotte with my family. I am hoping that this website will help me learn some tips and tricks...and maybe help me acquire some new (to me) tools. I've looked through some galleries and there are some talented people here...I look forward to learning more :)

Sorry for the long post...
Chris Mathes

Last edited by a moderator:

SteveColes

Steve
Corporate Member
Welcome aboard, glad to have you here. I'm sure others will be welcoming you. Let me know if I can help.

chris99z71

New User