GWL Update - Week 1 and 2 (Pic heavy!)

Status
Not open for further replies.

CDPeters

Master of None
Chris
Well, I told Scott I intended to try to post weekly updates with what I was doing and how I was coming along with the GWL and what with the holidays and what-not, I've already missed the first one :cool:. So here ya go - an update.

As you may recall, the transfer was made on Dec 15th at Scott's place:
GWL_004.JPG

View image in gallery

Once back in Windsor, my youngest son helped me unload and set up. We had her running that evening:

So step one was to read the book provided which is very basic, but taught me alot of things I didn't know. Once that was done, I mounted up a piece of scrap pine for some test runs:

Everything seemed good, except I couldn't get a very good cut with the roughing gouge, even after a quick touch on the grinder. I studied the pictures and descriptions in the book and looking at the grind, it looked to me like the ears??? wings??? (not sure the right terminology) were forward of the cutting sweet spot at the bottom of the gouge. That didn't seem quite right to me, so I reground the ears to bring it pack to a more square profile looking from the side, and that made all the difference. I should have taken before and after photos, but alas I could not reach the camera from the center of the vortex :rotflm:. OK, so we have the blank roughed out so I did some skew practice. Now I have to admit that the skew kinda scares me, always has and so that's probably way I never really got into turning. I seemed to do pretty well with it under Scott's watchfully eye in his shop, but I just keep getting catches. :icon_scra maybe more practice will help. You can clearly see the catches in the photos above.

OK so enough practice, let's try to make something. First a cherry Christmas tree ornament. See the skew evidence?