Great site, glad to join; Andy from Hillsborough

Status
Not open for further replies.

sawczyn

New User
Andy
I'm a fairly novice woodworker, starting with a Craftsman radial arm saw many years ago, making a crib/youth bed for my newborn son (now in graduate school) and some cabinets. Finally got a Rigid table saw, and planning on getting a planer, though most of my woodworking recently is sawing plywood and 2x4s for a carriage house renovation I'm doing in Colorado.

I spend half the year in Hillsborough, where I have a ridiculous amount of rough sawn, mostly oak, site milled 12 years ago from my property.

My wife would like some floor to ceiling bookcases, but with my tools in Colorado, I'm trying to avoid buying too many duplicate tools.

I have heard from a couple of sources, that there is or may be, a shop or business, in Durham or somewhere else, that rents or allows use of many tools, by subscription or other fee structure.

If anyone in the forum is familiar with what I'm talking about, I'd appreciate more info.

Else, I'll be browsing the ads, and I look forward to learning from the collective wisdom and experience of the woodworker members of this organization.

Thanks for having me.

woodArtz

New User
Bob
Welcome Andy. Great to have you with us... and in Hillsborough no less :icon_thum. BTW, the Hillsborough area folks meet up quite often for woodworking/fun. :gar-Bi

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
Welcome Andy, glad to have you join. Statements like "ridiculous amount of oak" are well understood here, everyone loves to hoard wood...
I believe there are several shop in the area that let you use the tools for a fee. One requires a membership (I'm sure someone will chime in here), there is also one advertised on Craig's List that has an hourly fee (http://raleigh.craigslist.org/tls/1472776198.html).