Freud Blade Stabilizer

Status
Not open for further replies.

rick7938

New User
Rick
I just bought a Freud Blade Stabilizer for my 10" Delta Contractor saw. When I opened the package, I found 2 stabilizers. Does one go on each side of the blade or are there 1 stabilizer for 2 applications?

I thought that they only went on the outside of the blade, but must be wrong.

Thanks for any information.

MarkW

New User
Mark
I only used one since you have to re-calibrate your fence if you use one on both sides.
It seemed to work well, though I have no idea on how much better it would be with 2.

Charles M

New User
Charles
Rick,

We offer Stabilizers which come as a pair and Stiffeners which are individual. Stabilizers augment the stock fixing washers on the saw and are dished so they must be always used together or you could distort the blade. Stiffeners are a flat plate that is mounted on the outboard side of the blade.

rick7938

New User
Rick
Thanks, Charles. I am kind of new at this and guess that I really didn't know the difference. I was afraid that using only one stabilizer would distort the blade because of the difference in the height of the bearing surfaces against the blade of the inner arbor plate and the stabilizer.

1. Is a stiffener beneficial if I use only full-kerf blades?( I have the Freud 40-tooth GP blade and Freud 50-tooth Combo)

2. Where can I order the stiffener?

The stabilizers are very well made and will make great paperweights, but I didn't want to use both of them since all my jigs, fence, and ZC inserts are set up for the stock blade location.

Thanks for responding to my question. I had hoped that you would read it.

Charles M

New User
Charles
Rick,

Although we offer these accessories, they should not be necessary for Freud blades. The only time I would recommend them is to correct a problem that is inherent in the saw or for use with an inferior blade. Is there an issue with the cut quality?

rick7938

New User
Rick
Thanks, Charles.