First Handtool Project - Small Tool Chest

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joe F

New User
Joe
It has been a while since I posted anything. Truth be told I haven't finished anything in a long time. This is my first project that was completed 100% with hand tools. No electrons were killed in the construction of this project. I started this back in mid-July during a week long woodworking class with Roy Underhill at The Woodwright School. It took all this time since then to finish it. After the class I still had to install the hinges, the lock and the handles (from Peter Ross). I also had to fit out the interior and paint it. An hour here and an hour there sure stretches things out. Glad to finally have this completed so I can clear off the bench and start something else.

IMG_41291.JPG

View image in gallery

Canuck

Wayne
Corporate Member
Nice work there, Joe!

Bet a full week of Roy must have been an experience to long remember. :)

Looks like many aspects of woodworking would need to be covered in order to complete the box. Dovetails look great and a very neay design.

Thanks for sharing

Wayne

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
Looks to be the idea size for a small traveling chest, just the minimum number of tools needed for a small project.

What are the rough interior dimensions?

Is this from Chris's plan for a small chest?

Joe F

New User
Joe
Wayne,

I have taken other one day classes at Roy's school, but that is just not the same. Wielding saws, planes and chisels 8 hours straight for 5 days is much different than putting in an hour here and there. Roy is definitely fun to spend time with. Bill Anderson (NCWW Member) was also a key instructor in the class.

Here is a link to the class description: http://www.woodwrightschool.com/joinercabinetmaker/
We covered:
Planing 4 square
Hand ripping and crosscutting on the sawbench
Through dovetails
Through mortise and tenon, frame and panel
Tongue and groove with match planes