New User
crpoj
20141010_055354.jpg
20140201_185124.jpg

20140330_152240.jpg

2421.jpg

1991.jpg

20140330_090317.jpg

I recently moved to Greensboro and found this site and thought I would join to share and to learn. I guess I would consider wood work as a hobby but I want to learn as much as possible so that maybe one day I can sell some of my designs and make a little extra cash to buy more wood working tools. This is my first go at making a keepsake box for my daughter. I cut everything on my cnc router that I built. I'm a programmer and machinist by trade and have always wanted to work with wood. The spiders shown are solid maple done in 2 setups. The larger one is about 6 inch in diameter and about 2.5 inches tall, the single smaller one is cut from red oak. These were very fun and challenging to cut. I really enjoyed making the box though and I have more plans to make more. Her name is inlayed about .0625 deep. Please comment on my post as I would like to know if it good or if its crap in the eyes of skilled wood workers.

regards,

Jason

Attachments

• 20140330_152240.jpg
    20140330_152240.jpg
    265.2 KB · Views: 197
Last edited:

merrill77

Master Scrap Maker
Chris
Those spiders are cool! Did you cut the legs individually and attach?

The box looks nice and I'm sure it will be well received! Since you asked for feedback: I would not have chosen figured/ambrosia maple for the box. I love inlay as well as carved accents on pieces like this. But IMO, the grain competes with (and detracts from) the carving and inlay. But that's just me - I tend to prefer simple over ornate. Many do not share my preference. If that is what the recipient likes, than it is perfect :)

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
That one streak does compete with the name but not a deal breaker in my eye. The box looks great and is really fantastic if this is your first wood project.

crpoj

New User
crpoj