Finish for Ash table

Status
Not open for further replies.

weelis

New User
weelis
Have just finished an end table made out of ash. I am new to the finishing part of woodworking so I need help. What would you all out there recommend for a finish? Am open:confused: to any and all suggestions. thanks to all.

Larry Rose

New User
Larry Rose
The times I've used ash I found it did not take stain very well as it blotched quite a bit. A clear finish like poly will bring out the grain and darken it a little and it looks good.

fergy

New User
Fergy
I just did some veneering with some tamo ash, and it's got an incredibly open pore/grain structure. You might really want to consider a filler for it after the first color treatment, unless you're leaving it natural. I finished it with sealcoat and clear pre-cat lacquer and it looks great. If coloring it, I would consider spraying a NGR dye instead of a wiping finish.

Gofor

Mark
Corporate Member
For a very durable finish, consider Behlens Rock Hard Table Top Finish. It is a phenolic varnish that levels well with brush application and forms a tough flexible finish. The downside is that it will skin over in the can quickly after initial use, so don't buy a larger container than you need for this project.

I used this on my walnut kitchen table and it has held up quite well now for a little over 3 years. IIRC I did a 50:50 mix of mineral spirits and Behlens wiped on for the first three coats, and then a full strength Behlens wet brush coat for the final.

JMTCW

Go

bluedawg76

New User
Sam