Finally introducing myself :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

klfelkins

New User
Kristy
Hi everyone,
I am new to wood working, mostly focusing on turning bowls. We bought an older house just over 2 years ago and with it came a large shop. Of course when you buy an older home you need tools. My husband has a very can do attitude, and did a lot of carpentry work with his father in CA before we moved to NC. So when there is something that needs to be done in the house he says "draw it out and we can do it, but we will need...."
My husband has been tinkering with woodworking for the past yr and a half, and gradually the projects we do are getting more and more serious, and the shop is about out of room for tools (talk of adding on to it has been happening quite a bit lately :)
Our neighbor runs a tree service business and (about 2 years ago) said he can get us all the fire wood we'd need. The first load of wood he dropped off was a bunch of large straight red oaks. Thus the owning a mill discussion started. "If we had a mill we could mill up most of the wood we need for projects..." So now we have a logosol and eventually hope to purchase a band-saw mill :)
About 2 months ago I bought a small Delta lathe from a gentleman who referred me to this site. Well as any turner knows you always need a bigger stronger lathe, so that led me to purchasing a NOVA from another NCWW (super nice guy!:). I will post pictures of the couple of small bowls I made with the delta soon. So far I have only roughed out a bunch of green bowls with the NOVA.
I look forward to being part of this community, I love the positive attitude and willingness to help others. I look forward to learning all I can from everyone on this site.
Cheers
~Kristy

Douglas Robinson

Doug Robinson
Corporate Member
Welcome Kristy. Would love to see some pics of the shop. We have soem sawyers in the area that can help you out until you get a bandsaw mill of your own.

Doug

Trent Mason

New User
Trent Mason