Festool Plunge Saw vs. Table Saw of similar price

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlexSwansboro

New User
Alex
I am very new to woodworking and would like to start trying my hand at some very simple cabinetry. I am a cancer survivor, and as a result I am not the strongest of people so my physical limitation are important to consider. I know I need a tool that will rip large pieces of wood and I have recently discovered the Festool TS 55 and 75 plunge saws for about $500 and $625 respectively. I like this idea because I can place the wood on a table and take the tool to the stock rather than taking the stock to the tool. If I go the route of the plunge saws what drawbacks will I have to deal with? What have you all heard about the plunge saws?

Any advice would be much appreciated.:gar-Bi

FlyingRon

Ron
Well, if everything you build is out of sheet goods it might be a thought. The first thing that comes to mind is blade size and horsepower. Can't put a dado bade in and using a track saw for crosscuts can be a little difficult. Setting the track for repetitive cuts isn't as easy as a good fence, etc...

Bas

Recovering tool addict
Bas
Corporate Member
Track saw and table saw complement each other, but neither replaces the other (unless maybe you're talking about a Euro sliding table saw). If you're using a lot of plywood, a track saw is a really good investment. You can certainly get reasonable results using a regular circular saw and straightedge, but that's a lot more difficult to set up every time. But as Ron said, it's not a table saw. You can't use it for repeatable cuts using the fence, you can't rip hardwood as easily with a track saw, no dado capability etc.

Staying true to my role of being one of the "tool enablers" here, the only suggestion I have is that you buy both... :tool:

Skymaster

New User
Jack