Epoxy filler

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dorm

New User
Dorm
I am using some oak for a project and need recommendation for epoxy filler to pour in some bug damaged areas. I wanted to use this material for many reasons, but one planed surface has a 6" long wood borer slot that I'd like to fill in. I need to be able to sand the filler once hardened. I think the voids are too large for typical wood filler/putty. So, your recommendations are appreciated. I do recall watching Norm Abrams mix a 2-part filler which he poured into such voids. Regardless your suggestions are appreciated.

Ciao - Dorm

JohnnyR

John
Corporate Member
I'm no expert on epoxy filling in wood, most of my experience is fixing fiberglass boats. After filling, be very careful about sanding as the epoxy is harder than wood and you may find yourself making depressions around the epoxy. Suggest using a card scraper or plane. It'll give you a chance to improve your sharpening skills.

garymuto

New User
Gary
I use West Systems epoxy when I need longer open time than a 5 minute epoxy provides. It allows the bubbles to come out when used as a filler where the 5 minute epoxy can trap bubbles. I have used it straight for a clear finish and used their filler which resembles a white powder. Other products with a 24 hour cure should work well too.

As John mentioned, I will use a plane or chisel to level the fill. I'm sure a scraper would work too.

Jeff

New User
Jeff
but one planed surface has a 6" long wood borer slot that I'd like to fill in.

That's an easy fix but send us some pictures of the area(s) that you want to fix. West Systems 2 part epoxy is an excellent product for your project (105 resin, 206 hardener).

http://www.westsystem.com/instruction-2/

The epoxy without any additives or colorants is as clear as water but that can be changed if it's not the look that you want. A card scraper is excellent for shaving the epoxy because its harder than metal.