Electronics expert needed

walnutjerry

Jerry
Senior User
After 20 years my Powermatic 3520A has developed a problem. The motor does not always start up and continue running------sometimes it will start and run for maybe a minute or two then kick off. Sometimes I unplug it wait a few seconds until I hear a click and plug it back up and it starts. Sometimes I have to go through unplugging restart several times before it starts up and runs. I had this issue once before years ago about 2003 and called Powermatic where they told me to check the wires. Well, I am not an electrician to say the least. There is an electrical schematic in the manual and a trouble shooting chart but I do not see much on the inverter.

So--------------do we have a member with the expertise to check this out and show me what and how to check it out if it occurs again in the future? Not asking for a freebie but I do not know where to find a qualified person for the job. Any help/advice will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance, Jerry

bob vaughan

Bob Vaughan
Senior User
Is the VFD you have?
1      delta vfd-b - 1.jpg

Oka

Casey
Corporate Member
No Expert, but it sounds like one of the legs on the 3 phase is cutting out possibly (being converted from single phase 220 power). You need to track it down.

The 1st thing I would check is the motor and its windings. This video will help you see how to do it. Checking Motor

If the motor is good, then check continuity from the VFD to the motor. If that is good, the you need to trouble shoot VFD. My 1st guess would be one phases is faulting. There are other issues to check if that is not the case. Here is a site that aims you in the right direction.
VFD Check

Good luck

gmakra

New User
George
Three phase motors dont have a start switch nor do they have capacitors.it runs intermittently and sounds like the wires contain the smoke. If you dont know what i am talking about look up George Lucas electronics. Its fun reading.