Electrical - 240v outlet installation

Status
Not open for further replies.

njohnston924

New User
Nate
[FONT=&quot]I am installing a heater in my garage and have run wiring to the new receptacle (240v). I have some electrical experience, but I want to make sure this is correct before i connect to the main panel and give power to the circuit. some details:[/FONT]

• [FONT=&quot]30 amp, double pole breaker will be installed[/FONT]
  • [FONT=&quot]10 gauge wire (10/2 romex, white and black wires with bare grounding wire)[/FONT]
  • [FONT=&quot]30 amp switch[/FONT]
  • [FONT=&quot]wiring route: from the breaker it runs to the switch, then runs to the outlet. grounding wires are tethered together at the switch junction.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
I'm having an experienced buddy check it to make sure in the next couple days, but just trying to get most of the work done up front. Any one with electrical experience that can confirm this?[/FONT]

Gofor

Mark
Corporate Member
Not an electrician, but that needs to be 10/3 romex. (Black, red, white, + ground). I suggest you do a little more research because it appears you are unfamiliar with 220v circuits.

If your friend is a licensed electrician, I suggest you check with him before buying/installing anything.

In NC, I believe you require a permit for that work. The inspection dept can advise you on what is required, and if ground-fault protection will be required beings it is in a garage.

Go

njohnston924

New User
Nate
the outlet is a nema 6-30r. from my research there is no neutral wire for this type of plug, only the 2 hots (black/red) and grounding.
How-to-wire-outlets-4-750.jpg

Jpalumbo

New User
Jon Palumbo
Hard to answer completely without knowing the heater info. 10-2 for 30 amp is correct and your wiring for this type of outlet is correct. there are two hot and the ground. There is no neutral on this type of plug.