Easy Turning Ideas

Henry W

Henry
Corporate Member
Note - the 'reply with quote' feature was not working when I wrote this so I am manually entering Ed's text.

Ed wrote: " I’ve been working to become a better turner for 20 years. On a scale of one to ten and on a good day, I’ve gotten to perhaps 6.5. I enjoy the near-instant gratification and diversion from flatwork."

My take is similar, except I haven't risen to the 6.5 level. I "needs more practise"....

Ed wrote
: "I could not agree more when it comes the need for sharp tools! With that…

I think it takes an exceptionally experienced and skilled individual to sharpen turning tools freehand. For that reason and unless I missed an earlier recommendation in this thread, consider a Oneway Wolverine system (basic jig and the Vari-grind). Stuart Kent is an exceptionally experienced and skilled individual and he uses them. "

My take is similar to Ed's - except there are other options for jigs (read cheaper when you see 'other'). No disrepsect to the Wolverine - clearly a very appropriate tool and great recommendation; I just wasn't ready to plunk down more cash after buying lathe and turning tools.
In terms of jigs, I use a shop made version of David Ellsworth's bowl gouge jig (for the so called fingernail grind); it's made with scrap on hand and it works well for my bowl gouge. I copied the basic idea from info in one of his books, but simplified it. Since I sharpen this tool best, and since I do primarily bowls, this covers 90+% of my sharpening needs.
I do sharpen other tools freehand (skew), but without much practice this is not my best skill.
I also use my belt/disc sander as my 'grinder' - also not ideal, but it was the tool I have on hand.

My point is I guess that such things can be accomplished on a budget.

BWhitney

Bruce
Corporate Member