Dust Collector Advice Needed

N2GODswork

New User
CP
Howdy!

I am a new member here, and am flummoxed by a recent attempt to upgrade my Dust Collection system, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I am a totally disabled veteran and have converted a 40’ HC shipping container into my workshop. I started out with a ShopFox 1HP DC (W1727) purchased through Amazon Warehouse for like 60% off, but realized I needed a stronger DC after purchasing a WEN 12-inch 5-speed lathe (LA3424).

My first attempted upgrade was another ShopFox, having enjoyed the first one and not having any problems with it. The motor on the 2HP ShopFox W1666 began smoking the first time I attempted to use it, so I returned it to Amazon Warehouse. Then I bought an Oasis Machinery DC5000 5HP beast, which ran for two weeks and then quit. It won’t even turn on anymore, and the vendor through Amazon wants me to pay the return shipping.

Did I just get two duds? Should I contact Oasis to have them send a replacement motor? Should I contact the vendor and respectfully request that they cover the shipping before the 30-day return window through Amazon expires? What DC should I replace it with if I send it back (I’m trying to get the best DC I can through Amazon with a price point of $750 or less)?

Thank you in advance for any assistance you may offer!

bowman

Board of Directors, Webmaster
Neal
Staff member
Corporate Member
Welcome CP, and thank you for your service!

As for using the DC with a lathe, I think your expectations may be set a bit high. If you are expecting to collect all chips while turning, it's not going to happen. I use my DC when sanding on the lathe, which captures maybe 90-95% of the dust.

a 5HP motor will require 220V. If you ran this on 110V, you burnt up the motor and the seller will not honor that.

ssmith

New User
Scott
+1 on "thanks for your service" and agree the most likely cause is attempting to run these 220V collectors on 110V.