dust collection

Status
Not open for further replies.

Warren

Warren
Corporate Member
Being a newbie, I recently read the post about table saw overhead dust collection. It went on for awhile. However, couldn’t find the final results. I liked the truck mudflap skirt (?). I have tried wallpaper paste brushes, paint brushes, and all sorts of drapes and had no real luck collecting the dust cloud. Many thanks for that suggestion. I’m planning a trip to Agri Supply to get a set.

A couple of excellent sites on dust collection are:
http://billpentz.com/woodworking/cyclone/Index.cfm
http://www.clearvuecyclones.com/
Before embarking on the dust collection journey, be sure to read Bill Penz’s excellent dissertations, then check out ClearVue cyclones made in SC.
ClearVue_cyclone.jpg

View image in gallery

However, maybe my overhead suspension system may be of interest. And as always, all suggestions for improvement will be appreciated.

The hanging support is an old bed frame. I cut off the headboard attachment and used it for the swiveling mount. DeStaCo clamps hold the hanging support in the vertical position. If I need more clearance above the blade, I unclamp and swing it to the right side and hook it to the chain shown in the photo.

The vertical adjuster is a piece of 4” schedule 40 ABS pipe that clamps the metal duct. It’s cut on the diameter into two pieces. A small hinge connects them back together. On the opposite side, two aluminum angles provides clamping surface for another DeStaCo clamp.

A final suggestion is to use 6" for the ductwork. I've used 4" and it was too restrictive. See Bill Penz discussion on his site,
Warren

M

McRabbet