Dual Purpose Post - WIP and Dust Collector vs Cyclone Attachment

Status
Not open for further replies.

joepoolplayer

New User
Nate
So, I have two goals with this post.

1. I've been working on a walnut toy box. This is my first project using rough lumber. Pictures below:
Rough cut from Saw4you:
IMAG0049.jpg

Squared Stock
IMAG0207.jpg

Dry Fit of the front face - first raised panel project
IMAG0211.jpg

2. During this project, I managed to create a giant mess of dust and wood chips. I have a 16 gallon shop vac, but it really didn't help. So the questions to the guru's is would a cyclone attachment be sufficient or should invest in a DC unit? If DC unit, then what should I look for? $100 or $1,000 unit?

Thanks for looking.

Jeremy Scuteri

Jeremy
Dust Collector! Harbor Freight (I know a lot of their stuff is garbage) sells a 1.5HP Dust Collector (with good reviews) for $249. If you check their ads, you can use a coupon and get it for $139. I have had mine for over a year and a half and it is still working great. I know somebody will probably say that Harbor Freight sucks and that you are wasting your money. I would challenge them to find a better dust collector solution for $139! :)

Just my 2 cents.

MarkE

Mark
Corporate Member
For $139.00 the HF DC works very well. If you go that route, consider adding a Thein type pre-separator or something like the Vortex system from Rockler. If you don't, you will be emptying the bags quite often and losing suction as you use the collector.

You should also replace the filter bags that are on the HF DC with either 1.0 or .5 micron bags or better still a Wynn filter.

If you can afford to do so, a full blown cyclone system is the way to go. Check out Penn-State Industries, Oneida, Clear-Vue, Grizzly, JDS, etc.

Joe Scharle

New User
Joe
The box looks good :icon_thum

Personally, I'm happy with my Fein vac and a 40gal paper barrel and Thein baffle. But if I had the room, I'd have a cyclone.