Dovetail jigs for router table

demondeacon

Dave
Senior User
Does anyone have experience to share with the Leigh RTJ400 Router Table Dovetail Jig? I am starting to learn more about joinery but do not have much experience other than butt and lap joints. I have made a tenoning jig for the table saw, and have also made two box joint jigs - one for my router table and one for table saw. Over the next month, I hope to practice with all three of these jigs. However, I realize that I need to master dovetails as well. I am not sure I have the patience to learn to cut them by hand but will be taking a class on this after the holidays. Since I am a novice with handtool work, I suspect that I might get superior results with a router.

There are several dovetail jigs on the market for using a (non-table) router - some as cheap as $50 but the Porter Cable is the highest rated and costs about $200. However when using the router, I much prefer using it on the table rather than freehand for several reasons including safety. I have found only one dovetail jig intended for the router table and it is the Leigh RTJ400 Router Table Dovetail Jig, which costs $399. Would like to know if anyone has used it and what they think, as it seems over-priced.

creasman

Jim
Staff member
Corporate Member
My encouragement to you is to take the time to learn how to cut dovetails by hand -- unless you plan to do production work and need speed and efficiency. For the price of a jig (one that won't be more frustration than help) you can buy a quality dovetail saw and have some $'s left over. Doing this by hand does take some patience and practice but well worth the investment.

Bill Clemmons

Bill
Corporate Member
I made a jig for my router table to cut the tails (I do the pins by hand). The jig works fine. Only issue is the tear out on the back side of the work piece. I'm too cheap to buy an actual jig like the Leigh. :(

creasman

Jim
Staff member
Corporate Member