DeltaCad

Happy Holidays,

I’m still looking for a drafting program. I used Sketchup free trial which is the Pro subscription. I liked it but the subscribed to the 120.00 per year program, had terrible time trying to login, then other issues as well so I wanted to cancel it. You’re allowed 14 days to unsubscribe. I looked at how to unsubscribe and saw dozens of users that had a difficult time trying to unsubscribe. I ended up jumping through hoops to get it done. I’m like a lot of us a hobbies and won’t pay 299.00 a year for the program. I’d use the free but on a Mac it has issue that can’t be fixed. I also can’t try the Demo for DeltaCad because I’m using a Mac. Looking at DeltaCad seems similar but in simplicity like SketchUp. Do you have to pay for upgrades yearly and if so how much? If I can’t find a reasonable program I’ll using a drafting board and tools. Fortunately I have an associates degree in Mechanical Drafting using the old tried and true methods. It’s just more convenient and far easier to make changes using a cad program. My last question, is is anyone using a Chromebook with Sketchup free without glitches in dimensioning or any other issue.

I appreciate all the help from everyone,

Thanks,
John P. Ferry

ssmith

New User
Scott
After doing the same trial I'm using SketchUp free on a PC and and it works fine but does have limitations and quirks.

Unfortunately, that doesn't help your Mac issue. Have you tried Fusion 360? Functionally it's a lot like Sketchup, does run on Macs, and is free for personal use. There are certain limitations in support for MacOS - you may want to carefully review their System Requirements here.

pop-pop

Man with many vises
Corporate Member
I have used DeltaCad for well over a decade. Upgrades are infrequent and cost about $30. Their email help is prompt and useful.