Dark Spots After Sanding

Status
Not open for further replies.

dasaes0514

New User
Dave
Hi all,
I'm new to woodworking and am taking on a dining room table refinishing project. the table had a dark top and we wanted to make it much lighter so I tried taking off the 1st layer with a belt sander using 120 grit then 120 again with palm sander, then 150, then 220. There are some spots left from the belt sander that feel like the sander went too deep, for lack of better terms, and now I have several black marks. I sanded with the grain, in one direction, and kept the sander moving. Any ideas what caused this and how do I fix it so I can apply really light stain? I was told the wood looked like poplar if that helps any and it's solid wood and not veneer or pressboard.

Attachments

• IMG_2676.jpg
    IMG_2676.jpg
    346.4 KB · Views: 775
  • IMG_2675.jpg
    IMG_2675.jpg
    299 KB · Views: 1,012

Roy G

Roy
Senior User
Dave, have you tried bleaching the spots? Try a little bleach at an edge and see if the stain gets lighter.

Roy G

farmerbw

Brian
Corporate Member
Dave, I don't have an answer regarding the cause of the staining, unless it's something from one of the sanders itself. The only suggestions would be more sanding or maybe trying a card scraper. You can see what appears to be unevenness, chatter maybe?, in the wood from the belt sander though. How wide is the top? You might be able to enlist the help of a member with a wide belt sander and get it sanded to a more even consistency and hopefully remove the staining in the process.

I'm not sure that's Poplar though, it looks more like Rubber, or Para, wood to me. I've sanded some of it in the past and don't recall if I experienced any staining like that, or at least to that extent.

B

dasaes0514

New User
Dave