Cutting chamfers on T & G boards

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaveO

New User
DaveO
I am going to do a bit of tongue and groove work on this tea house that I am making. I have a 1/4" slot cutting bit and the tongue will be done with a straight bit and fence. I would like to put a little chamfer where the joints come together. I know I could do it with a block plane, but I have quite a bit to do. I also would think that there is a special bit that will do it in one pass over the router table, but I would like to work with what I have. Chamfering the grooved side will be easy with a bearing chamfer bit, but I am stuck on how to do the tongue side. I would appreciate any advice, thanks in advance.
Dave:)

RandyJ

Randy
Corporate Member
Dave, as you know I'm just a beginner, but how about this. After you cut the tongues, change to a chamfer bit in the router. Raise the bit just enough to reveal part of the cutting edge and run all your tongues through the router? Don't know if this would be too much work but thought I would throw it out.
Take care,
Randy

4yanks

New User
Willie
DaveO,
How about using the tilt feature on your table saw. Tilt the blade to the desired angle and then experiment with the height of the blade and fence position until you get the results you're looking for. Hope this helps.

erasmussen

New User
RAS
If I read this correctly, you are wanting a chamfer on the shoulder of the tongue to match the one on the groove, not on the end of the tongue.:eusa_thin
I would say TS, unless its on the end of long and heavy boards:eusa_thin

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Randy, I will have to experiment with your suggestion, that is the way I'd like to do it but I think that the bearing on my chamfer bit will get in the way by hitting the tongue.
The TS method has a lot of potential.