Contractor Saw under powered for walnut?

Status
Not open for further replies.

decibel

New User
Patrick
I have the ridgid tablesaw 3650 contractor saw and I'm ripping down some 4/4 walnut for glue ups. I'm using the WWII blade and the saw just doesn't seem happy. I feel if I try to feed any faster I might bog the motor (even more) but at this slow of a feed rate it's burning. I've tried a dedicated rip blade (albiet cheap borg freud rip blade) and it seems worse.

This is my first time really cutting down "real" wood. It seems that is' hard to feed at times then it gets going pretty well and may bog again later in the cut (natural tension in the wood?)

I would think a 1.5 horse motor could handle 4/4 walnut rather easily or am I having unrelastic expectations? If it's this unhappy with walnut I'd hate to see when I start ripping hickory and oak :(

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
Sounds like the blade is not aligned with the table and fence.

There are several threads on here about blade and fence alignment.

Also you said sometimes it goes along OK?

Maybe a splitter would help.

Travis Porter

Travis
Corporate Member
I second Mike's comment. Your blade and fence are not aligned. Are you using a splitter or factory guard? Make sure it is aligned as well.

Lastly, is the wood closing up as you rip? If that is the case, a splitter might help if you are not using one.

decibel

New User
Patrick
I'll check the blade alignment. I am using the factory splitter/blade guard. To give a little more context I am ripping down rough sawn boards after I"ve edge and face jointed one side. So part of the cut may be taking off just a sliver and other parts a little more It seems the harder feed does come more when it's not cutting that much to really even engage the splittler (just takeing off paper thing strips)