Console Table: Finished

drw

Donn
Corporate Member
A few months ago, my daughter asked if I would build her a console table. When asked what she had in mind she sent me a picture. At first glance I thought it would be a relatively simple but interesting project, but it proved to be far more "interesting" than I originally thought. While I won't go into all of the ups/downs, the doors are the obvious standout feature and shouldn't be all that difficult - but it proved to be a bit more tricky that I had anticipated. The wood is sapele and when I originally purchased it, the only suitable boards available were 8/4...no problem...resawn boards would be a great way to create the matching chevrons. Initially, it did work very well, but two day after I cut, glued and sanded the doors I noticed that they were cupping. While I am no expert, my guess is that resawing released some of the internal stresses in the wood. I have used 8/4 many times before with only minor movement issues. That said, the next trip I bought 5/4 boards, created one large panel from which I cut the two doors. The cabinet is about 47.5" wide, 17" deep and 29" hight; the finish is 6 coats of wipe-on poly. All things considered, I am pleased with how it turned out.
F0D14706-F525-45C5-AEAE-280029011523(1).jpg

31846256-A764-473E-80A9-68F434EB7881.jpg

553ACD4E-4D74-4F4D-B093-5E70A0BC94A9(1).jpg

smallboat

smallboat
Corporate Member
beautiful!

Not to change the subject, but what kind of boat do you move with that dolly?
I’m used to seeing bicycles in shop photos!

Reactions: drw

llucas

luke
Senior User
Donn, that is just gorgeous! I love the way you arranged the grain patterns.
I don't see any handles...tell me about the closure mechanism. Push to open? The ones I've seen have a more obvious "piston" than I see in your pics. What brand are they?

Last edited:

drw

Donn
Corporate Member
Donn, that is just gorgeous! I love the way you arranged the grain patterns.