Compressed air piping

Dee2

Board of Directors, Vice President
Gene
Staff member
Corporate Member
CU, AL, or ??? What is in your shop?

FWIW, I have no experience sweating joints.

Phil S

Phil Soper
Staff member
Corporate Member
The problem with PVC is it will shatter/explode when pressurized and the hit with an errant piece of lumber.
The shattering causes very sharp pieces flying about - definitely not what you want.
Yet still my shops have 1" PVC. I solved the shatter hazard by slipping the PVC into 1 1/4" EMT (electrical conduit). The advantages of 1" tubing is it holds a lot of air plus it cools the hot/moist compressed air. My air compressor is at the other end of the house and there is about 100' of PVC/EMT between the compressor and the shop. I installed a drip leg at about 60' and I get dry air in the shop

Oka

Casey
Corporate Member
PVC Used for air must be Sch 80 (pricey) not 40, Forget using it unless you need /want PVC.

Pex will work but at the terminations convert to steel or equal (copper. This makes a better more robust system. Remember to secure every change in direction both sides within 8" of the 90° or Tee. This will prevent thrust kick on the pipe when there is a sudden loss or increase in the pressure.

tvrgeek

Scott
Corporate Member
Well, I have no problem sweating copper, but right now, my shop air is 5/8 hose reel. One of these days I'll run copper again.

FredP

Fred
Corporate Member
Prevost aluminum. It's pricey (got mine free) but it's a very nice system.

bobsmodels

Bob
Senior User
Hi