Color and clear shellac order of application question

Status
Not open for further replies.

kooshball

David
Corporate Member
I am getting dangerously close to the end of my wide dresser project and have laid down the first coat of platina shellac to seal everything off. I also plan to add 1-2 coats of orange shellac for some warming effect but I need to know if I can then top-coat that with the platina for depth?

If I put clear over color shellac will the alcohol in the clear cause the color to run and show fat edges and/or puddles or will it stay put?

Any suggestions?

Thanks

CarvedTones

Board of Directors, Vice President
Andy
I have limited experience with this; not all that much but some. Anyway, it was more like mixing than running (wasn't like running at all) I used dewaxed blonde and amber and the amber became less amber. It almost seems like two consecutive coats become one, as if I mixed them before applying.

CarvedTones

Andy
Just saw you're later post. You are spraying. I use pads. Not sure how relevant my comments are...

kooshball

David
Corporate Member
Just saw you're later post. You are spraying. I use pads. Not sure how relevant my comments are...

Spraying is my contingency plan if I run into trouble on the large top; my current plan is to use a fine 3" brush with some glycol ether added into my 1.25lb cut to slow the evaporation.

On the test pieces and on the initial coat it seems to be working well; the open time on the wood is just long enough to blend into the previous stroke and not pull.

Tarhead

Mark
Corporate Member
Sounds like you need to do a trial run spraying on a piece of scrap and see what happens. You may need to mix some Orange into the clear to maintain the tone depending how dark you want it, maybe not. Each coat dissolves into the previous coats and as the alcohol evaporates the film builds. If all else fails, strip it, put down a base tone with dye and build up a finish with Shellac.

Bill Clemmons

Bill
Corporate Member