CNC Instruction

Status
Not open for further replies.

mkepke

Mark
Senior User
I have a bit of an interest in getting into CNC machining.

Does anyone have recommendations on some local instruction, preferably eves or weekends ? I think Wake Tech has day classes only.

I'd rather not drop $1500-4K on a entry-level machine and "try to figure it out myself".

-Mark

cubicdissection

New User
Eric
Actually they shut down Wake Tech's program, so that's not even an option anymore. Short of finding someone with a machine willing to teach you (unlikely), you pretty much just need to buy a machine and teach yourself.

tmerrill

New User
Tim
Mark,

As a self-taught ShopBot user, here are a few ideas I can offer:

Right now the most popular (and recommended) software is coming from a small British company called Vectric. They offer an entry level package called Cut2D, a more complete package called VCarve Pro, a 3D package called Cut3D and a photo and imaging package called PhotoVCarve. If you go to their website (link below) you will find a good collection of videos and tutorials for their software. If you download the demo versions, and spend some time with videos and tutorials, I think you will see how easy it is to design and program the machines. The demo programs are full versions (but will not allow you to cut anything but the demo designs) and all have a very impressive simulation output which will show you on your computer what the finished project will look like. Their programs also support all the affordable entry level machines as well as homebuilts.

Vectric's website is at www.vectric.com and you will find the training materials under the Support tab. Their forum is also top notch and you will find a lot of new users their asking for and receiving help and guidance.

If your interested, there are a sampling of projects in my gallery all made from the Vectric programs.