Circular Saw Problems!?!?!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rod

New User
Rod
I have a Dewalt circular saw...got it about 10 years ago. It has worked fine up until recently...a few bumps here and there along the way...but always something I could fix.

Recently I went to use it and found that it will not cut at 90 degrees. I have changed the blade, checked the angle gauge, made sure the foot assembly is sound (or seems to be).

Could it be that I have bent the arbor? I don't see how I could have...the casing isn't cracked or anything. If I have, is it worth fixing or should I just fess up and buy a new saw? I am dumbfounded. :tinysmile_cry_t:

TracyP

Administrator , Forum Moderator
Tracy
Rod, I am no expert in any way but I would be inclined to think that the "foot" assembly is out of square, not 90 degrees to the blade. That would cause a less than 90 degree cut.

Gotcha6

Dennis
Staff member
Corporate Member
While I'm not familiar with the features of that specific brand, many times the bevel angle guide slot on a circular saw will hold sawdust and dirt that won't allow the saw to come back square with the foot.
Also, look for a positive stop adjustment on the saw & see if it is off. In any case, if you're trying to make accurate angle cuts with a hand held curcular saw, you need a more reliable measurement device than the 5 degree increments shown on most saws.
A third thing to look for is if the motor housing to foot assembly has somehow been bent. A bent blade arbor would cause a serious wobble (can you say 'dado'?) to the blade but it should still cut square.
If the foot is attached to the angle casting assembly with rivets or screws, you might look into drilling out the rivets & shimming the foot back square.

Rod

New User
Rod
Rod, I am no expert in any way but I would be inclined to think that the "foot" assembly is out of square, not 90 degrees to the blade. That would cause a less than 90 degree cut.

T,