Cheap Laser Engravers

Status
Not open for further replies.

beloitdavisja

James
Corporate Member
Wondering if anyone has any experiences with the cheap chinese laser engravers that are all over ebay? Mainly wanting it so I can start engraving pens (wood & acrylic) as well as burning a logo in the bottom of my bowls. Because of the bowls, I'm looking at the engravers that have an open floor like this one so I'm not limited by the height of the object.
attachment.php

https://www.ebay.com/i/123099249258

From what I've read, the curvature of the pen won't affect the engraving too much if you stay close to the middle of the cylinder.

I'm a hobbyist, so an expensive commercial engraver is out of the question. Looking to stay in the sub-$200 range, 1000-2000mw laser.

Thoughts?

Attachments

• s-l640.jpg
    s-l640.jpg
    47.1 KB · Views: 480

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
Interested to see what you learn. For $200 I would probably get one depending on quality and ease of use.

beloitdavisja

James
Corporate Member
Just pulled the trigger on this one: https://www.ebay.com/itm/183188991620

2000mw laser, 65x50cm engraving area. [FONT=&quot]MORE18EBAY coupon code took $10 off, and it's shipping from New Jersey. Should be here Wednesday or Thursday next week. I'll post updates on assembly and first trials. [/FONT]

Vetteman9956

New User
Brad
Don't mean to burst your bubble and I wish you good luck, but from what I have heard in some of my laser groups is that the experience using these cheap lasers usually very frustrating and parts and service support is non existent. In this area, you get what you pay for. For example my laser is American made and runs over $20k not including software. Expect a long learning curve. I took almost 3 years before I felt that I had some what mastered it. the hardware is the easy part.

beloitdavisja

James
Corporate Member