Buy another stone or try "Scary Sharp"?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom Dunn

New User
Tom Dunn
I have one DMT 6 inch bench stone, Fine grit(red).<br><br>I was trying to sharpen my CRKT Ignitor the other evening and the fine stone just didn't seem to be getting me anywhere.<br><br>I'm wondering if I should buy a medium DMT benchstone, or if I would be better advised to invest in the plates/adhesive/glue needed for the "Scary Sharp" approach?<br><br>I have no experience with the SS method, and I pretty much suck at using stones. I need to attend one of Mike's workshops sometime.<br><br>Aside from various knives, I'm planning to get a few wood chisels for a project, and obviously those will need to be kept sharp as well.<br><br>I know the full diamond plates are pretty much regarded as "the nuts", but truth be told, the budget is a mite tight for them. &nbsp;&nbsp;<br><br>Opinions/comments appreciated!<br><br>

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
red is 600 grit too fine for shaping

Go ahead and get a 325 blue and if you can swing it get a black which I think is 220.

Those three will get you going much faster.

Sandpaper is the least expensive way to get started and the most expensive long term.

nn4jw

New User
Jim
I use the scary system for plane irons and chisels but not for knives. For that I use various stones, mostly Japanese water stones. The scary system is better suited for flat blades like plane irons and chisels IMHO.

Mark Gottesman

New User
Mark
Check Amazon for warehouse deals - open box/ returns. Sometimes you can find sharpening equipment at discount. Do be sure to check the new stuff since they often offer free shipping and some attractive bundles.

For instance, they have a 3 piece DMT 8" continuous diamond plate set for ~ 150 shipped. Those would probably take care of 90% of you sharpening needs for years to come.

KenOfCary

Ken
Staff member
Corporate Member