Bowl sanders

Status
Not open for further replies.

ScottM

Scott
Staff member
Corporate Member
As a darksider in training, I would like to know what kind of bowl sanders the more experienced folks are using? Also I see sanding disks come in the 1", 2" and 3" sizes. Any preferences on the sizes?

JRD

New User
Jim
Scott,

I've been turning for four years now and still don't have a bowl sander.

I just use a piece of foam rubber, sandpaper, and my hand. A bowl sander may be nice, but
I've found I just don' need one.

Jim

NCTurner

Gary
Corporate Member
Scott,

Here are a few options:

1. HF right angle drill and homemade disc holder

2. Shop made passive sander. Link 1 Link 2- this can be found under tips and tricks section. Link 3

3. You can go with a pre bought system. Link 2 + a power drill.

All or any combination of these systems will work. I suggest you start with a 2" or 3", 3" being my first choice. I have some of the required materials for making pads, and you are more than welcome to them, but I won't be able to get them to you until the evening the 23rd.

flyrod444

New User
Jack