Basic cabinet building book

Status
Not open for further replies.

davel_ral

New User
Dave
Hi..I just discovered this site over the holidays. "Wow" pretty much sums it up.

I've been a rank amateur for a number of years...done a lot of DIY on my house, etc. but now I'm going to try my hand at stuff that requires something smaller than a 2x4. I'm looking to build a basic cabinet structure for my garage, as well as a simple TV stand (with doors) for my bedroom. (seems that the fine furntiture people are in love with armoires...you know how big one of those would have to be to hold a 32" HDTV?) The stands that are made are only 24" tall, and I'm looking for something 28-30" tall.

In any event, there are a zillion "basic cabinet construction" books out there and I was wondering if there are some favorites that some of you folks might like.

Thanks,

Dave L

DaveO

New User
DaveO
Danny Proloux has written several very good books on the subject. I can't recall the titles at the moment. Building cabinets is basically building boxes. If you break them down into individual units it isn't to hard.
As far as the TV armoire is concerned take the size of your TV plus some room to maneuver it around and allow ventilation and then design the rest of the structure around those require dimensions. I built a entertainment center for a 31" regular TV and AV equip. that way, I think there are some pics in my album. Good luck, and welcome to the site, I glad you found it. See you around. Dave:)

D L Ames

New User
D L Ames
DaveO said:
Danny Proloux has written several very good books on the subject. I can't recall the titles at the moment. Building cabinets is basically building boxes. If you break them down into individual units it isn't to hard. Dave:)

Dave L, welcome to our merry band of NC woodworkers. I hope you become an active participant in the forums (and forays) and post some pics of your work.