Bad 1st experience at wood store

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlexSwansboro

New User
Alex
I want to build some outdoor furniture for my wife. I recently went to a hardwood store to find some cypress or cedar and was stunned at the cost. Granted I am new to wood working and this was my first venture into the world of specialty wood stores. I, until now, have bought all my wood at big box stores. About how much should cypress and cedar cost? The store I went to was charging 4.50-6.00 per board foot depending on the wood. I don't remember how much each of them cost. I am building my furniture based on a plan from Wood magazine, which says that the wood should cost around $130.00 (for cedar). When I asked for a total estimate it was $520 for the cedar and $388 for the cypress. Included in these costs was milling on two sides and a straight line rip, which I need because I have no jointer, planer, or band saw, although I am in the market for a band saw.

Is there a disconnect? Did Wood Magazine grossly under estimate the cost of the wood, or is this guy way overcharging? Like I said, I am new to wood working and would love to be able to continue with it, but at prices that high I don't know.

Help and advice please.

p.s.

I need about 61 board feet of either cypress or cedar if anybody knows where I can get that much wood I would appreciate it.

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
$2 is pretty low for planned and ripped wood. $4 is a little high for rough cut.

But 62 feet times $4 should be $248 not 300 nor 500.

Was it $248 plus labor for the planing? $100 to plane 60 feet seems high too.

I think you need to buy from one of the sawyers here and see if somebody will help you with the plane. Do you really need it straight line ripped? I usually just rip on my table saw and if it is badly curved I use a 1/4 inch plywood sled.

CrealBilly

New User
Jeff