anyone with experience spraying a dye?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BSevier

New User
Bryan
how difficult is it to spray a wb poly (general finishes) with a dye added?

i've sprayed the wb before without the dye and had good results. i'm still somewhat new to spraying so my confidence is shaky- especially when it comes to adding a color.

i had to go with the dye in order to match an existing piece. i've now got the poly mixed with the dye and have a good match. however, looking at the size of the project, i would much rather spray it than try to brush it.

add to that the project is for a friend of mine, so the pressure is on.

:help:

nelsone

New User
Ed
The dye should not change the poly enough to be noticed. I usually spray dye with either water or DNA. Haven't had much need to mix it with the top coat, but it is very easy to use.

WoodWrangler

New User
Jeremy
I haven't either, but agree with Ed's comments.

Travis should be able to provide some insight ... I'm pretty sure he uses dye often.

woodguy1975

New User
John
Light coats is the key with spraying tinted top coats. If you tint too much and try to change the color too quickly you'll end up with lap marks no matter how well you spray. The key is multiple layers of light color.

It can be difficult to even spray darker shellacs and not get lap marks unless you very light 1lb or less cuts.

Tinted poly brings me back to the time I tried to use polyshades. What a nightmare that turned out to be.

Travis Porter

Travis
Corporate Member
It is a royal PAIN to spray dye mixed in with your finish/top coat. The official/professional term for this is toning, and it works for small areas, but it is the pits for an entire project. Brushing it would be worse.