ANY info on Paulownia trees market/buying please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

nak0218

New User
NAK
Is there anyone out there that has an idea as to the market for paulownia trees? I am interested in starting my own plantation however the only information I'm lacking is Who will actually buy paulownia. I now it is great wood for furniture, instruments and such but I am very new to this, so anyone that has any info on this, Please HELP!:swoon:

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
I have heard that in our area over most of the South it grows too fast. The growth rings are over 1/4 inch wide and therefor unsuitable for furniture. It seems to be a scam that takes a long time to find out you have wasted your time and money buying the trees and letting them grow on your land.

Another get poor slowly scheme. :rotflm:

nak0218

New User
NAK
Hmmm, thanks for your reply. I just have read so many sites that "claim" it's a wonderful investment, blah blah blah and I have the perfect setup to do it, so it seems/seemed like a great idea! More research is needed. Thanks and if you hear anything else or know someone who may know a thing or two, give me their name :wsmile:

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
If I remember correctly I heard this from the forestry agent in Virginia when I was looking for something to do with my 60 acres. He suggested Christmas trees as a better investment.

charlie jones

New User
Charlie
I have some tees on my property and have made some small boxes from it. I can assure you it is to soft for most furniture. I have heard they use it in Japan for small stuff and it is valuable there.

Mike Davis

Mike
Corporate Member
Yes, it grows much more slowly there and is a denser, heavier, stronger wood than the fast growing trees produce here.

CarvedTones

Board of Directors, Vice President
Andy