A bit of CNC play

JD951

New User
dusty
Well here's a box I made for a friend. Top is CNC carved with a Carvewright machine. Not a fan of that system. Wood is red oak locally harvested in Forsyth Co. Corners are finger joint

IMG_20220129_162422.jpg

Here's how it looks after he finished it.

Case 5.jpg

Annnd here's what's inside. My friend is a builder of custom flintlocks and is an accomplished luthier. He made the powder flask from black walnut along with the small compartment for flints and ball. And yes, we have shot that pistol more than a couple times.

Case 2.jpg

Echd

C
User
Looks good.

What do you dislike about the carvewright system? I am still learning my Onefinity and use mainly fusion and vectric.

A pistol box is in my near future as well, but I'm spending more time obsessing about how to design comfortable grips than the box.

JD951

New User
dusty
Looks good.

What do you dislike about the carvewright system? I am still learning my Onefinity and use mainly fusion and vectric.

A pistol box is in my near future as well, but I'm spending more time obsessing about how to design comfortable grips than the box.
Carvewright-

Pros- unlimited x axis

Cons- 14in Y axis, user hostile buggy proprietary poorly written garbage software, proprietary tooling, work piece motion, incapable of inlay, incapable of engraving, incapable of multiple parts per program, proprietary machine parts, incapable of interconnection ie requires use of proprietary card, flaky errors if the machine isn't spotless clean