Search results

1. Splinter

And the good will lathe goes to

It is going to cost you PLENTY. :D I was the second lucky recipient of the Good Will Lathe and now I own three lathes and have lost count of the number of lathe tools and accessories. But have I ever had fun. Warning it can be addictive. I predict that after you turn a few items that you will...
  2. Splinter

Looking for potential manufacturers/suppliers of fine furniture

Maybe not what you would call "high end" furniture but there is still one manufacture of handmade furniture left in North Carolina. http://troutmanchairs.com/ We just purchased two of their rockers. Very well built and very comfortable. Their assembly technique does not use any glue...
  3. Splinter

Your experience: Self taught vs Instruction

Join a local Woodturning Club. Normally the membership fee is not much and most do demos at their meetings and have mentors that will help you for free. Consider attending the NC Woodturning Symposium in Greensboro is November. http://northcarolinawoodturning.com/ You will get to watch some...
  4. Splinter

Walnut slab benches

You did an excellent job of showing off what nature provided.
  5. Splinter

metal building for shop

I built a shop 32' x 64' with 12' ceiling in a style similar to the Morton buildings but I hired local carpenters that work by the hour and I saved a LOT of money over the Morton building and everyone else I got quotes from. It is in the pole barn style covered in colored metal with concrete...
  6. Splinter

Pony Express from Raleigh/points North to Greensboro

Mike I will be heading West on I40 in August but I guess that would be a little late.
  7. Splinter

Weight loss update

Looking good. It takes a lot dedication and will power to do what you are doing. Looks like you have your priorities in order so your daughters will have you around for a long time.
  8. Splinter

Custom Furniture Needed